CTV’s Cardinal and CraveTV’s Letterkenny win Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards

CTV’s Cardinal and CraveTV’s Letterkenny grabbed honours for TV drama and comedy writing at the Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards this week.

Anne, the CBC’s Anne of Green Gables reboot, which was named Best Drama at the Canadian Screen Awards in March, took the WGC prize for “Best Script From Season 1” for series creator Moira Walley-Beckett.

The TV Drama WGC prize went to Aubrey Nealon for Cardinal, which won a Best Actor Canadian Screen Award for star Billy Campbell.

Letterkenny, a past Best Comedy CSA champ, took the WGC award for creators Jared Keeso and Jacob Tierney, who also star in the series.

Another CBC offering, the miniseries Alias Grace, took the Movie of the Week or Miniseries WGC award for Sarah Polley. Based on a Margaret Atwood novel, it was named Best Limited Series at the CSAs.

Jason Filiatrault won the Feature Film WGC award for Entanglement; Documentary went to Mark Leiren-Young for The Hundred-Year-Old Whale; Matt Kippen won Tweens and Teens for The Stanley Dynamic; the Children’s prize went to Sean Jara for Mysticons; and the Shorts and Web Series award went to Karen McClellan for Spiral.

Special prizes included the WGC Showrunner Award, which went to Michael MacLennan, creator of Bomb Girls; the Denis McGrath Award for Service to the WGC went to Mark Ellis; the Alex Barris Mentorship Award to Sherry White and the Sondra Kelly Award to Sarah Dodd.

The awards were hosted Monday by comedian Gavin Crawford at Toronto’s Koerner Hall.


Related Posts You Might Like: