IFA 2019: The latest announcements from Europe’s leading tech show

It’s official: The world’s leading manufacturers have started taking to the stage at IFA 2019 in Berlin, Germany, to showcase their latest innovations. Here’s what you need to know about this year’s show, including how long it will run for, where it’s held, the schedule, and all the devices we’ve seen (and are expecting to see) unveiled by the likes of LG, Sony, Samsung, and more.

First off, the Internationale Funkausstellung — otherwise known as IFA — is an annual public trade show at the Messe Berlin, where brands come together to show off everything from refrigerators and microwaves to smartphones and tablets. Seriously, whether you’re into voice-controlled washing machines or 120-inch 8K TVs, there’s something for everyone at IFA.

IFA 2019 will run from September 6 through September 11, although most of the big announcements — such as the revamped Samsung Galaxy Fold — started taking place at invite-only events on September 4 and September 5. Below, we’ve rounded up all the most significant news from each company, and what to expect from those that are still yet to show their hand.

IFA 2019 schedule

September 4

  • Acer — 10:30am CEST / 4:30am EDT / 1:30am PST
  • Asus — 1:00pm CEST / 7:00am EDT / 4:00am PST
  • Amazon — 7:00pm CEST / 1:00pm EDT / 10:00am PST

September 5 

  • Samsung — 11:00am CEST / 5:00am EDT / 2:00am PST
  • Philips — 12:00pm CEST / 6:00am EDT / 3:00am PST
  • Sony — 1:00pm CEST / 7:00am EDT / 4:00am PST
  • TCL — 2:30pm CEST / 8:30am EDT / 5:30am PST
  • Toshiba — 4:00pm CEST / 10:00am EDT / 7:00am PST
  • Sharp — 4:00pm CEST / 10:00am EDT / 7:00am PST

September 6

  • LG Mobile — 10:00am CEST / 4:00am EDT / 1:00am PST
  • Huawei — 10:30am CEST / 4:30am EDT / 1:30am PST

Acer at IFA 2019

Acer was the first manufacturer to take to the stage in Berlin ahead of IFA 2019 and it didn’t disappoint, announcing a revised Predator Triton 500 gaming laptop with a ludicrous 300Hz refresh rate, a new ConceptD line of devices, including the Microsoft Surface Studio-esque RTX Studio ConceptD 9 Pro, refreshed models of the Swift 3 and Swift 5, and more.

Asus at IFA 2019

Asus had a lot to show off at its event on September 4, with the ROG Phone 2, ProArt StudioBook One, and StudioBook Pro X headlining the show. It also showcased a wave of new gaming laptops with 300Hz screens and a ProArt Display, which just so happens to be the first to support HDR 1600 and a variable refresh rate of between 48 and 120Hz (to eliminate motion blur).

Amazon at IFA 2019

Well, we didn’t see that coming. Amazon announced nothing short of an onslaught of new hardware on September 3 ahead of IFA 2019, including an OLED Fire TV Edition and Fire TV Edition Soundbar, a new 65-inch Toshiba Fire TV Edition with Dolby Vision HDR, and a refreshed Fire TV Cube, as well as new partnerships that will see the Fire TV sold in more markets.

BMW at IFA 2019

BMW is long said to be showcasing an autonomous vehicle with 5G baked in at IFA 2019. Unfortunately, little is known about the car and when it will be unveiled, but it wouldn’t be the first time a car was showcased at IFA — Mercedes showcased the remodelled interior it debuted in the new A-Class at IFA 2018. So we’ll have to wait and see what the automaker has to offer.

LG at IFA 2019

LG was out in full force at CES 2019, introducing a 77-inch 8K OLED 4K TV, so we’re expecting a more subtle appearance at IFA 2019. The bulk of the rumors we’ve heard to date hint at a smartphone-centric showcase, including at least one new Dual Screen handset and two mid-range devices. We should also see some brand new 4K Ultra HD Cinebeam projectors.

Hisense at IFA 2019

Budget manufacturer Hisense stunned the media with the surprise announcement of a massive 85-inch 8K TV (which is also available in a 75-inch configuration, for those short on space) and three new Laser TVs on September 5. Sadly, there was no information about pricing, but hopefully it will be a tad cheaper than LG’s $ 42,000 88-inch 8K OLED TV.

Huawei at IFA 2019

Nobody really knows what Huawei will do at IFA 2019 now that it has started sending out invitations to an event it’s holding in Munich on September 19, where it will announce the Huawei Mate 30 and Huawei Mate 30 Pro, but one thing is for certain: It will still have a huge presence at IFA. Some have said it will launch the Kirin 990, while others think we could see a 5G TV (or both).

OnePlus at IFA 2019

While OnePlus doesn’t have an event scheduled for IFA 2019, there has been some chatter claiming the much-anticipated OnePlus TV will be showcased behind closed doors at the conference. If that’s the case, you can bet your bottom dollar that a leaked picture here and a titbit there will surface soon thereafter, as the dark underbelly of the industry look to make a quick buck.

Panasonic at IFA 2019

A frequent sponsor of IFA, Panasonic has one of the largest presences at the show, and we can’t see that changing anytime soon. Typically, it uses IFA as a platform to showcase a stunning new television that never quite makes its way to the United States. But that doesn’t mean we can’t stare in awe, right? On the bright side, TCL should have something neat in store for us.

Samsung at IFA 2019

Samsung’s event on September 5 was a bit underwhelming, with the firm reiterating the (re)launch date for the fabled Galaxy Fold and announcing a 55-inch QLED 8K TV, which was somewhat of a strange move considering the television has been on sale in select markets for a short while now. It also showcased some customizable refrigerators, because why not?

Sonos at IFA 2019

If Sonos were a ship, the number of leaks it has had would have sunk it. To that end, we don’t have to wonder what the audio titan is bringing to IFA 2019 — we already know. It’s a Bluetooth speaker with AirPlay 2, Bluetooth, and USB Type-C. It also has Auto Trueplay, can be connected to other Sonos hardware, and comes with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant to boot.

Sharp at IFA 2019

There’s no need to speculate: Sharp has confirmed that it will be announcing a huge 120-inch 8K TV at IFA 2019. Granted, it’s not the largest 8K TV in the world (that would be Samsung’s 292-inch The Wall Luxury), but it is the most sizeable LCD TV thus far. The manufacturer also added that the television incorporates 5G … to draw more detail from artwork. Useful, huh?

Sony at IFA 2019

Sony is about as unpredictable as can be when it comes to IFA, having used the show to announce everything from headphones to smartphones in the past. At IFA 2019, we should see a new phone — presumed to be the Xperia 2 — a new 4K TV, and maybe even a new version of the 1000X headphone (the WH-1000XM3 was launched at IFA 2018). Again, we’ll have to wait and see.

TCL at IFA 2019

TCL is betting big on IFA, it seems. According to various tipsters, the Chinese manufacturer is preparing to showcase a slew of new tech at the event, including a foldable smartphone and a mini-LED TV. One also added that the company will premier a new wearable device that brings a 100-inch cinematic viewing experience to a device the size of a pair of Ray-Bans.

What else to expect at IFA 2019

Above is just a small selection of the manufacturers that will be at IFA 2019 in — Lenovo, Philips, Sennheiser, Qualcomm, and Yamaha all have events of their own scheduled to showcase their latest innovations, as do a number of other brands, and Digital Trends will be on the ground reporting live, so bookmark this page to stay up to date with all the latest IFA 2019 news.

Editors’ Recommendations


Cars | Digital Trends

Related Posts You Might Like: